Merry Christmas :)

December 25, 2009

I love surprises. Who doesn’t? The problem is, I’m much too snoopy and curious to really allow myself to be surprised very often. I’m a peeker and a snooper and I get it from my mother. But on the occasions that I actually AM surprised, it’s so, so nice. Especially when these surprises come from a person, not from something tangible. Don’t get me wrong, I love being surprised with gifts, but  I love being surprised by gestures even more. 

This Christmas I was surprised by someone really important to me, and that in itself makes me so happy. Its an amazing feeling when someone does something for you that you wouldn’t ever expect. Because they do it all on their OWN. There is no hinting, no dropping clues. It’s just their own genuine want to do something for you. There is so much faith to be had in the people around us. No matter how things turn out for me, personally, I hope I will always preserve my faith in people.

This surprise  really brought me back to why I treasure Christmas so much.  Because it’s about love. Not just romantic love, but love for the people that you have in your life and the roles they play. I know people get stressed about present shopping and money and all of that, and it IS overwhelming at times, but the point is not what you buy, it’s that you took the time out of your day to find them something you knew they would love. You gave them something that you feel like they deserve, just for being themselves and for being in your life. 

It shouldn’t take a holiday for us to realize how good we have it, or to tell our loved ones that we love and appreciate them. It’s great that the holidays bring that out in us, but I think a great resolution for the new year is to try and appreciate the people in our lives as much as we can, every single day. I know that will be a resolution for me. 

Thank you, Mom for taking the time to buy me so many great gifts, for stressing yourself out all the time just to make sure I have what I need, for making a great Christmas dinner and for being such a loving and caring mother. I’m so lucky to have you 🙂

Merry Christmas, Everyone 🙂

Until next time…

-C

Leave a Reply

